Gnomes enjoy knitting too

Yesterday I had planned to get a bit more work done on this one knitting project for a friend who kind of low-key commissioned it. I had been making some pretty decent progress on it the night before, and was planning on finishing this one section of it.

I went down to my room to get it and decided to bring up my dress form so I can get some kind of idea how it’s looking on a more female shaped body (meaning not on my super flat self). So I unraveled the working yarn off of the rolled up progress and needles, placed the empty needle beside me, and held up what I had against the dress form.

Once I had figured out how much more I needed to knit and add to the width I pushed the dress form off to the side and went to grab the other needle. But it was gone. It just flat out disappeared on me. I hadn’t gotten up from my spot, nor did I heard that classic sound of a metal needle hitting the ground. Mind you it is only a US size 5, but I should have still heard something. Out of habit I checked the creases of the couch, the gabs that lead to underneath it, on the side table. I even went as far as to check from where I picked up the knitting, my bed, along my stairs, and the floor from my door to the living room.

I’ve checked everywhere I could think it fell and then some less likely places it could have ended up. My house isn’t that big, nor do I really venture out of the three basic rooms I normally spend any bit of time in.

So either I’m just blind and the knitting needle is right there in plain view, or house gnomes have stolen it and are holding it for ransom. I do have a fair amount of cleaning that needs to get done so perhaps that’s what they’re waiting for, I can’t be for certain.

I’m trying to not have five projects on the go at once, I do that with books and it takes me forever to finish them, so I’m trying really hard to not just start something new while I look for that needle. Now I could always go out and buy a new pair of US size 5 needles, or even get a thing of circular needles which would probably help me out a lot especially for this project, but I’m trying to not get anymore…at least not until I have a proper storage system for them. At the moment they’re all in a tall mason jar.

Leave a Reply

