Back to clocking in

Being a new business I knew that I wouldn’t be able to make a living off of my store right away, hell I didn’t even think I could make a full proper living off of it for another couple years. But doing to after post secondary thing and living at home while I chip away at my student loan payments, it’s not like I have a whole lot of bills…at least I’m lucky and my dad is pretty supportive and doesn’t charge me any rent or anything.

But I do have plans in the rather near future (less then a year) of moving out, purely because good as this province has been to me (there was a lot of soul searching and moving up in the world done here) I just can’t handle living in the praises anymore…I’m a coastal kid at heart and I need my oceans and/or forests. I’m sure if I was living closer to the mountains I wouldn’t hate it as much, but I’m living in flat, prairie, suburbia…

Now I know it doesn’t make much sense me admitting that I didn’t think I could make a living from this shop for another two years, then immediately saying I’m moving out of a rent free home in less then a year. But like I mentioned before I can’t quite stand living in the prairies for much longer, I did say I’m a coastal kid at heart, and at this point I’m willing to do whatever I need to do to continue on with my plans. My friend back on the coast has a house of sorts and has basically reserved a room for me, so housing is taken care of. Really all that’s needed on my part is to save up X amount of money which is why I’m heading back into the salon.

I had an interview earlier this week and now I’m just waiting for the second interview. The manager at this salon is super chill and he’s willing on giving me like a month off so I can still work for Cirque de Soleil next month, because really this is kind of a dream of mine. I mean it’s not 100% set in stone I’m working there yet, but I recently spoke to one of my references and I was told a lot of good things so my hopes are still pretty high for this job.

Ideally, yes I’d like to eventually get to a point where I can live off of purely my shop, but it’s not even a month old and I started this at (what I’m considering) a good point in my life, like I’m 23 years old, with little to no life expenses. So really I do have a long way to go, and with me going back into the salon work force I can use it to help finance my dream of working for myself, it just means that I’m going to have to make this more of a part time job of sorts.

But nobody has ever said that starting something, let alone a business or store, would ever be easy and I’m just going to have to work at it and hope it pays off in the long run.

Leave a Reply

